• Thursday May 18, 2017

    Caribbean Club Championship: Cibao FC, San Juan Jabloteh to meet in final

    Action from the Caribbean Club Championship game between San Juan Jabloteh (green jersey) and Portmore United on May 18, 2017, in Port of Spain, Trinidad & Tobago. (Photo: CA-Images)

    PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad & Tobago – When the dust settled on the last night of group play in the 2017 Caribbean Club Championship finals, San Juan Jabloteh and Cibao FC did what was required to reach Sunday’s final, while Central FC fell short in its bid for a third consecutive crown.

    CONCACAF.com takes a look at Thursday’s action:

    Trinidad & Tobago
    May 14-21, 2017

    Group A

    May 18, 2017: Hasely Crawford Stadium – Port of Spain, Trinidad & Tobago
    Central FC-Cibao FC 1 (0-1)

    Patrick Soko 54’

    • Patrick Soko (54’) scored the only goal as Cibao FC (Dominican Republic) defeated two-time defending champion Central FC (Trinidad & Tobago) to finish first in Group A and book a date with San Juan Jabloteh in the final.
    • The result also means that Central FC will play in the 2017 Scotiabank CONCACAF League, while Grenades FC (Antigua & Barbuda) was eliminated from the competition.
    • The loss was Central FC’s first in 10 all-time CCC games (7W-2D-1). 

    Central FC: Richard Thompson; Keston George, Carlos Edwards, Jason Marcano, Sean de Silva, Taryk Sampson, Nathaniel Garcia, Graham Smith (Keron Cummings 81'), Fresnel Simil (Johan Peltier 78'), Callum Harris (Tyrik John 46'), Kaydion Gabriel. Head Coach: Dale Saunders 

    Cibao FC: Juan Pablo Dominguez; Cesar Garcia-Danco, Richard Dabas, Jose Tafarel Ferreira, Woodensky Cherenfant, Paulson Pierre, Charles Herold Jr., Domingo Peralta, Rafael Flores, Patrick Soko (Oscar Florencio 90'+3), Ernesto Trinidad. Head Coach: Albert Benaiges Sala

    R: Ricangel de Leca (Aruba); AR1: Kuan Budd (Grenada); AR2: Dane Ritchie (Turks & Caicos Islands); 4th: Gianni Ascani (Turks & Caicos Islands)

    Team  GP  W  D  L  GF  GA  P
    Cibao FC 2 1 1 0 3 2 4
    Central FC 2 1 0 1 3 2 3
    Grenades FC 2 0 1 1 3 5 1

    May 14, 2017
    Central FC 3, Grenades FC 1
    Jason Marcano 37’; Akenaton Edwards 45’; Nathaniel Garcia 85’ / Trevaughn Harriet 6’ 

    May 16, 2017
    Cibao FC 2, Grenades FC 2
    Woodensky Cherenfant 54’, 56’ / Trevaughn Harriet 85’; own-goal, Garcia-Danco 86’ 

    May 18, 2017
    Central FC 0, Cibao FC 1
    Patrick Soko 54’


    Group B

    May 18, 2017: Hasely Crawford Stadium – Port of Spain, Trinidad & Tobago
    San Juan Jabloteh-Portmore United 2-2 (2-0)
    Adrian Reid 34’ pen; Vurlon Mills 41’ / Jermie Lynch 85’; Ewan Grandison 87’

    • San Juan Jabloteh (Trinidad & Tobago) only needed a point to reach the 2017 Caribbean Club Championship final and that’s what it got, holding on to secure a 2-2 draw with Portmore United (Jamaica).
    • Adrian Reid (34’ pen) and Vurlon Mills (41’) gave the San Juan Kings a 2-0 lead, before Portmore United stormed back with two late goals through Jermie Lynch (85’); Ewan Grandison (87’)
    • With the result, Portmore United qualified for the 2017 Scotiabank CONCACAF League, while Jabloteh can earn a place in the Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League with a win over Cibao FC in Sunday’s final. 

    San Juan Jabloteh: Javon Sample; Akeem Benjamin, Elijah Manners (Micah Lansiquot 76'), Keithy Simpson (Kennedy Hinkson 70'), Kadeem Corbin (Hayden Tinto 76'), Damion Williams, Kion Joseph, Vurlon Mills, Jevon Morris, Adrian Reid, Nathan Lewis. Head Coach: Keith Jeffrey

    Portmore United: Shaven Sean Paul; Andre Dyce, Damono Solomon, Kareen Manning, Ricardo Morris, Sue-Lae McCalla (Maalique Foster 55'), Javon East, Ewan Grandison, Cleon Pryce, Henrico Ricketts (Roberto Johnson 60'), Michael Binns (Jermie Lynch 68'). Head Coach: Linval Dixon

    R: Sherwin Moore (Guyana); AR1: Jairo Morales (Puerto Rico); AR2: Jade Garcia Salamatin (Aruba); 4th: Mario Escobar (Guatemala)

    Team  GP  W  D  L  GF  GA  P
    San Juan Jabloteh  2 1 1 0 4 2 4
    Portmore United  2 1 1 0 3 2 4
    Racing FC  2 0 0 2 0 3 0

    May 14, 2017
    San Juan Jabloteh 2, Racing FC 0
    Nathan Lewis 50’; own-goal, Joseph Mitchelson 74’

    May 16, 2017
    Portmore United 1, Racing FC 0
    Ricardo Morris 17’

    May 18, 2017
    San Juan Jabloteh 2, Portmore United 2
    Adrian Reid 34’ pen; Vurlon Mills 41’ / Jermie Lynch 85’; Ewan Grandison 87’

  • Champions League

    Related News


Real Esteli, Olivas to part ways

Real Esteli announced Wednesday that head coach Otoniel Olivas will leave the club at the end of the 2018 Nicaraguan Clausura.

Tigres, Santa Tecla: home unbeaten streaks at a glance

If there is one mantra in which all coaches from across the CONCACAF region believe, it is the importance of defending home soil.

Club Tijuana looks to defense as Monterrey clash nears

Unbeaten after two games to start the 2018 Liga MX Clausura (1W-1D-0L, 4 points), Club Tijuana is the only team yet to concede a goal.

Herediano signs Mexico’s Arellano

Herediano announced Sunday the signing the signing of Mexican striker Omar Arellano to a one-year contract.

Tigres’ Sosa on beating Santos: “An important win for what’s ahead”

Current Liga MX Apertura champion Tigres collected its first win of the 2018 Apertura with a 2-1 home triumph over Santos on Saturday night.