• Friday May 02, 2014

    Canada roster named for U.S. women’s friendly

    Adriana Leon (red jersey), who has scored two goals in 13 international appearances, was called-up for Canada's May 8, 2014, friendly against the visiting United States. (Photo courtesy of the Canadian Soccer Association)

    OTTAWA – With its first home game of 2014 on the horizon, Canada called in 21 players for its women’s international friendly on May 8 against the United States at Investors Group Field in Winnipeg.

    It will be the second meeting of the year between the CONCACAF rivals after the Americans posted a 1-0 victory on January 31 in Frisco, Texas.

    The pre-match camp will feature the return of Chicago Red Stars forward Melissa Tancredi, who is back in the fold for the first time since Canada fell to the U.S., 3-0, in Toronto on June 2, 2013.  Tancredi, 32, scored four goals in six appearances at the 2012 Women’s Olympic Football Tournament.

    Also included in the squad are five players who could see action this summer at the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup Canada 2014: Kadeisha Buchanan, Jessie Fleming, Ashley Lawrence, Rebecca Quinn and Sura Yekka.

    Fleming, winner of the Golden Ball at the 2013 CONCACAF Women’s Under-17 Championship as the tournament’s best player, and Yekka were standout performers during Canada’s run to the quarterfinals of the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup in Costa Rica earlier this year.

    Players will report over the weekend in advance of the team’s first full training session on Monday.

    Canada Women’s National Team Roster
    (International friendly: May 8, 2014 - home v USA)

    GOALKEEPERS:  Karina LeBlanc (Chicago Red Stars/USA), Erin McLeod (Houston Dash/USA)

    DEFENDERS:  Kadeisha Buchanan (West Virginia University/USA), Robyn Gayle (Washington Spirit/USA), Carmelina Moscato (Seattle Reign FC/USA), Rebecca Quinn (Duke University/USA), Rhian Wilkinson (Comètes de Laval), Sura Yekka (Brams United)

    MIDFIELDERS:  Brittany Baxter (Seattle Sounders/USA), Jessie Fleming (London NorWest SC) Kaylyn Kyle (Houston Dash/USA), Ashley Lawrence (West Virginia University/USA), Diana Matheson (Washington Spirit/USA), Sophie Schmidt (Sky Blue FC/USA), Desiree Scott (Notts County Ladies/England)

    FORWARDS:  Josée Bélanger (Comètes de Laval), Nkem Ezurike (Boston Breakers/USA), Jonelle Filigno (Sky Blue FC/USA), Adriana Leon (Chicago Red Stars/USA), Christine Sinclair (Portland Thorns FC/USA), Melissa Tancredi (Chicago Red Stars/USA)

  • Champions League

    Related News


2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup Quarterfinals Set

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) announced today the official pairings and kick-off times of Quarterfinal matches in the 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup.

2014 UNCAF Copa Centroamericana update

The Union of Central American Football (UNCAF) revealed Wednesday that the next UNCAF Copa Centroamericana

Final 2013 Gold Cup rosters revealed

CONCACAF unveiled today the final rosters submitted by the National Teams participating in the 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup.

U.S. names U-20 roster for Toulon

U.S. Under-20 Men's National Team head coach Tab Ramos has named a 22-player roster for the 2013 Toulon Tournament in France, May 28 - June 8.

2013-14 CONCACAF Champions League Quarterfinals Schedule Set

Eight teams will battle for a spot in the FIFA Club World Cup Morocco 2014