• Wednesday Oct 02, 2013

    Canada announces roster for Australia friendly

    Dejan Jakovic (red) was one of 21 players called up for Canada's friendly against Australia on October 15, 2013, in London, England. (Photo courtesy of the Canadian Soccer Association)


    OTTAWA -- Canada head coach Benito Floro revealed Wednesday his 21-man roster for an October 15 friendly against Australia at Craven Cottage in London, England.


    The squad features a mix of European-based and Major League Soccer players, all of whom participated in September’s camp in Spain and two matches against Mauritania.


    “This camp and match against Australia will be important as we continue to work on establishing our team’s tactical structure,” said Floro.  “With each camp we need to continue to build towards specific goals and maintain a certain quality of play. Australia is a strong opponent and will test our latest key learnings.”


    The Canadians and Socceroos last squared off in 1993, when the sides met during a two-legged playoff in FIFA World Cup Qualifying for USA 1994.  Canada was eliminated 4-1 on penalty kicks after the series ended 3-3 on aggregate as each side won 2-1 at home.


    Dejan Jakovic and Dwayne De Rosario, both of whom played in D.C. United’s U.S. Open Cup final win over Real Salt Lake on Wednesday, were among the call-ups.


    Floro also invited a pair of 18-year-old’s from England’s Queens Park Rangers -- Michael Petrasso and Dylan Carreiro -- to participate in the training camp.




    (Training Camp and International Friendly on October 15, 2013 v Australia in London, England)

    GOALKEEPERS: Milan Borjan (Sivasspor/Turkey), Lars Hirschfeld (Valerenga/Norway)

    DEFENDERS: Marcel de Jong (Augsburg/Germany), David Edgar (Burnley/England), Doneil Henry (Toronto FC), Dejan Jakovic (D.C. United/USA), Nik Ledgerwood (Hammarby/Sweden), Ashtone Morgan (Toronto FC), Adam Straith (Wehen Wiesbaden/Germany)

    MIDFIELDERS: Kyle Bekker (Toronto FC), Dylan Carreiro (Queens Park Rangers/England), Stefan Cebara (no club), Julian de Guzman (Skoda Xanthi/Greece), Dwayne De Rosario (D.C. United/USA), Atiba Hutchinson (Besiktas/Turkey), Jonathan Osorio (Toronto FC), Michael Petrasso (Queens Park Rangers/England), Samuel Piette (Fortuna Dusseldorf/Germany), Russell Teibert (Vancouver Whitecaps)


    FORWARDS: Marcus Haber (Notts County/England), Iain Hume (Preston North End/England), Simeon Jackson (Eintracht Braunschweig/Germany), Tosaint Ricketts (Sandnes Ulf/Norway)

  • Champions League

    Related News


WCQ Recap: Third Round, Second Leg

On a night that saw Jamaica and Guatemala recover from first-leg deficits, the third round of CONCACAF qualifying for the 2018 FIFA World Cup concluded Tuesday with six sides advancing to the first group stage.

Draw Determines Groups and Schedule for the 2015 CONCACAF Men's Olympic Qualifying Championship

CONCACAF conducted today the draw for the 2015 CONCACAF Olympic Qualifying Championship, at the Torrance Marriott in Los Angeles, California.

CONCACAF Cup 2015 Provisional 35-Player Rosters Announced  

Mexico and United States name initial lists for October 10 match at Pasadena’s Rose Bowl

Nicaragua’s Duarte: “We lacked for nothing”

Nicaragua was minutes away from booking a historic first trip to the group stage of a World Cup Qualifying cycle, when Simon Dawkins struck for visiting Jamaica, giving it a 2-0 win last Tuesday.

CU17 Women’s Championship logo unveiled in Grenada

Although the first ball won’t be kicked for more than four months, Grenada demonstrated its enthusiasm to host the 2016 CONCACAF Under-17 Women’s Championship, unveiling the official tournament logo on Thursday at the Radisson Grenada Grand Beach Resort.