• Tuesday Aug 26, 2003

    2003 CONCACAF Champions Cup Final Dates Set

    The dates for the 2003 CONCACAF Champions Cup two-game final between the Mexican clubs CA Monarcas Morelia and Deportivo Toluca FC have been confirmed for the 17 September and 8 October.

    The draw to determine in which order the games will be played is set for Thursday, 4 September in Miami, Florida USA; presided over by CONCACAF General Secretary Chuck Blazer at a time and venue to be determined.

    This is the second consecutive year that the CONCACAF Champions Cup final is an all-Mexican affair, and it also marks only the second time in the 41-year history of the event that clubs from the same country will square off in the final.

    Toluca has not won the CONCACAF title since 1968, while Morelia is playing in their second consecutive final in 2003 as they try to claim their first-ever Championship Cup title, after losing a heartbreaking 1:0 decision to Pachuca CF of Mexico for the 2002 crown.

    Toluca reached the 2003 final after defeating Club América (MEX) 5:4 on aggregate in the semifinal series in May, while Morelia advanced to this year's finale after eliminating CD Necaxa (MEX) 6:0 on aggregate.

    CONCACAF Champions Cup All-Time Winners
    Year - Winners
    1962 - Guadalajara (MEX)
    1963 - Racing (HAI)
    1967 - Alianza (SLV)
    1968 - Toluca (MEX)
    1969 - Cruz Azul (MEX)
    1970 - Cruz Azul (MEX)
    1971 - Cruz Azul (MEX)
    1972 - Olimpia (HON)
    1973 - Transvaal (SUR)
    1974 - Municipal (GUA)
    1976 - Atlético Español (MEX)
    1977 - Club América (MEX)
    1978 - Universidad de Guadalajara (MEX)
    1979 - Deportivo FAS (SLV)
    1980 - UNAM (MEX)
    1981 - Transvaal (SUR)
    1982 - UNAM (MEX)
    1983 - Altante (MEX)
    1984 - Violette (HAI)
    1985 - Defence Force (TRI)
    1986 - LD Alajuelense (CRC)
    1987 - Club América (MEX)
    1988 - Olimpia (HON)
    1989 - UNAM (MEX)
    1990 - Club América (MEX)
    1991 - Puebla (MEX)
    1992 - Club América (MEX)
    1993 - Saprissa (CRC)
    1994 - CS Cartaginés (CRC)
    1995 - Saprissa (CRC)
    1996 - Cruz Azul (MEX)
    1997 - Cruz Azul (MEX)
    1998 - D.C. United (USA)
    1999 - Necaxa (MEX)
    2000 - Los Angeles Galaxy (USA)
    2002 - Pachuca (MEX)

  • Champions League

    Related News


Mendoza making most of chance at Club Tijuana

After a long tenure in Mexico City, you could forgive Omar Mendoza for needing time to adapt to his new surroundings at Club Tijuana.

SCCL 2018: Five young footballers to watch

The old saying in football is that if a player is good enough, then he is old enough.

Martin thrives at Club America

Needless to say, Henry Martin has taken to his new surroundings at Club America quite nicely.

CCC2018 Video: W Connection’s Charles-Fevrier reacts to setback, looks to future

W Connection head coach Stuart Charles-Fevrier talks with CONCACAF.com about his team’s elimination from the 2018 Caribbean Club Championship (CCC) after falling to Atletico Pantoja on Sunday and looks ahead to the domestic season.

Schmetzer has Seattle Sounders FC thinking SCCL

Brian Schmetzer makes no bones about it.